Alumni Successes

Cory Beard (Ph.D. EE, 1999) Beard is an associate professor in the school of interdisciplinary computing and engineering at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. He recently received a NSF Career Award.

Luiz DaSilva (Ph.D. EE, 1998) DaSilva works at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University as an associate professor in electrical and computer engineering. His primary research interests are wireless and ad-hoc networking, resource management and quality of service, and network management.

Ben Ewy (M.S. EE, 1995) Ewy created a start-up company, Ambient Computing, Inc., that received a $100,000 research grant in January 2002 from the National Science Foundation. The NSF money has supported the continued development of intelligent wireless devices.

Nathan Goodman (Ph.D. EE, 2002) Goodman is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Arizona. He directs the Laboratory for Sensor and Array Processing.

Shane Haas (B.S. EE and Math, 1998; M.S. EE and Math 1999) graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Financial Technologies Option program with his doctorate in electrical engineering and computer science in 2003. He is now a vice-president and research scientist at the AlphaSimplex Group, L.L.C., in Cambridge, Mass. Through the use of statistics, Haas and his colleagues gauge how markets performed in the past. AlphaSimplex can then better assess risks and predict the future performance of stocks, bonds, commodities and other financial markets.

Tim Kelley (M.S. EE, 1992) Kelley is the director of the Advanced Technologies Laboratory for Sprint Network Services.

Michael Kinney (M.S. EE, 1993) He joined Intel in early 1999 as a staff engineer in the Microcomputer Software Labs. He is one of the architects of the EFI Specification and has worked extensively on the EFI Sample Implementation.

Justin Legarsky (Ph.D., EE, 1999) Legarsky is an assistant professor in the department of electrical engineering at the University of Missouri-Columbia. His specialties include synthetic-aperture radar (SAR), microwave remote sensing, wireless system design and analysis, and space flight hardware radar design.

Brian McClendon (B.S. EE, 1986) serves as the Director of Engineering for Google Earth, Local, Maps. He helped create Keyhole Corporation, which Google acquired in 2004 and renamed Google Earth.

Michalakis Michael (M.S. CS, 1998) Michalakis is a software test engineer at Microsoft. He works in designing feature sets for products, and also in designing and implementing automated test cases and specification documents.

Steve Olivia (Ph.D. EE, 1999) A former Sprint Fellow, Olivia, is now a director at Sprint PCS in California. He was promoted after receiving his Ph.D. from the University of Kansas and working at ITTC. He received a U.S. Patent in 2003 for research he did during his time at ITTC.

Leen-Kiat Soh (Ph.D. EE, 1997) He is an assistant professor at the department of computer science and engineering of the University of Nebraska. His teaching and research interests are in Artificial Intelligence and image processing.

Andrew Williams (Ph.D. EE 1999) An assistant professor in electrical and computer engineering at the University of Iowa, his teaching and research interests include multi-agent knowledge sharing and learning. He recently received a three-year $700,000 grant that involves the study of bioinformatics from the National Institutes of Health.

Peter Whiting (Ph.D, EE, 2001) The former Sprint Fellow now works as a Principle Engineer for the company. He is responsible for the design and operations for Sprint's web hosting business.

If you or someone you know has an ITTC Alumni Success Story that can be listed here, please e-mail