IFL 2011

The Schema module does not support the "sqlite" database type.

Welcome to the website for the 23rd Symposium on Implementation and Application of Functional Languages.


The list of accepted papers has been published.

Please register for IFL.


The Symposium returns to the US this year, hosted by the University of Kansas, in scenic Lawrence, Kansas. Lawrence is a lively college town less than an hour from Kansas City and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI). The symposium dates are October 3-5, 2011.

The goal of the IFL symposia is to bring together researchers actively engaged in the implementation and application of functional and function-based programming languages. IFL 2011 will be a venue for researchers to present and discuss new ideas and concepts, work in progress, and publication-ripe results related to the implementation and application of functional languages and function-based programming.

Invited Speaker

Bryan O’Sullivan, author of Real World Haskell, and co-founder of MailRank, Inc.

More details


IFL welcomes submissions describing practical and theoretical work as well as submissions describing applications and tools. If you are not sure that your work is appropriate for IFL 2011, please contact the PC chair. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • language concepts
  • type checking
  • contracts
  • compilation techniques
  • staged compilation
  • runtime function specialization
  • runtime code generation
  • partial evaluation
  • (abstract) interpretation
  • generic programming techniques
  • automatic program generation
  • array processing
  • concurrent/parallel programming
  • concurrent/parallel program execution
  • functional programming and embedded systems
  • functional programming and web applications
  • functional programming and security
  • novel memory management techniques
  • runtime profiling and performance measurements
  • debugging and tracing
  • virtual/abstract machine architectures
  • validation and verification of functional programs
  • tools and programming techniques
  • industrial applications of functional programming


Peter Landin Prize

The Peter Landin Prize is awarded to the best paper presented at the symposium every year. The honored article is selected by the program committee based on the submissions received for the formal review process. The prize carries a cash award equivalent to 150 Euros.

Program Committee

Torben Amtoft, Kansas State University
Francesco Cesarini, Erlang Solutions Ltd
Olaf Chitil, University of Kent
Eelco Dolstra, Delft University of Technology
Martin Erwig, Oregon State University
Andy Gill, University of Kansas (Chair)
Alwyn Goodloe, NASA
Jurriaan Hage, Utrecht University
Kevin Hammond, University of St. Andrews
Bill Harrison, University of Missouri
Ralf Hinze, Oxford University
James Hook, Portland State University
Garrin Kimmell, University of Iowa
Andres Löh, Well-Typed LLP
Rita Loogen, Philipps-University Marburg
Neil Mitchell, Standard Chartered
Rex Page, Oklahoma University
Rinus Plasmeijer, Radboud University Nijmegen
Sven-Bodo Scholz, University of Hertfordshire
Mary Sheeran, Chalmers
Satnam Singh, Microsoft Research
Walid Taha, Halmstad University
Simon Thompson, University of Kent
Geoffrey Washburn, LogicBlox

ittclogo.png10.43 KB